Scholarship Program

Student Scholarship Program

Created in 2009, the annual Scholarship Program awards students who demonstrate strong character, academic ability, and a potential to make a significant contribution to the field of international energy negotiations. Up to 10 scholarships can be awarded annually in honor of long-time member and contributor Gordon Barrows. Each scholarship is in the amount of $2,000, split $1,000 for each semester, and paid directly to the winner's university. Scholarship applications are reviewed annually by the committee.

Qualified applicants may be working towards an energy, commercial or law degree, but must be attending a university that supports AIEN by having a professor on its Education Advisory Board, which comprise:

Agostinho Neto University (UAN)
American University Washington College of Law
Chulalongkorn University
Colorado School of Mines
Louisiana State University (LSU)
Macquarie University
Ohio State University College of Law
Qatar University
Queen Mary University
South Texas College of Law Houston
Southern Methodist University (SMU)
Strathmore University
Texas A&M University School of Law
Texas Southern University (TSU)
The University of Oklahoma
The University of North Texas at Dallas
The University of Texas at Austin
The University of Tokyo, School of Law
The University of Tulsa
Tulane University Law School
Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UERJ)
University of Aberdeen
University of Alberta
University of Bedfordshire
University of Calgary
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
University of Dundee
University of Hong Kong (HKU)
University of Houston Law Center

The following criteria will be used by the Scholarship Committee:

  • Potential to make a significant contribution to the field of international energy negotiations
  • Exhibit academic, leadership, and negotiation ability
  • Exhibit financial need

The 2022-2023 Student Scholarship Program is now open!

2022-2023 Program Documents

Scholarship Briefing Document
Online Application
Letter of Recommendation

Deadline to apply: April 26, 2022

Winners Announced: On or around June 8, 2022

Questions? Please contact