AIPN 2019 Awards Program Open for Nominations

AIPN Members submit nominations online by March 4, 2019

Click here to submit your nomination now!

Now in its second year, the AIPN Awards Program celebrates certain impactful industry achievements, underpinned by international petroleum negotiations and transactions that promote and embody the principles of AIPN in the oil and gas industry. Award winners will be recognized for their outstanding achievements at the 2019 IPS Gala & Awards Dinner held on May 22, 2019 at the Hobby Center for the Performing Arts in Houston.

Award Categories

Deal of the Year: This award recognizes an outstanding and noteworthy M&A transaction, occurring between January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018, and having been announced or made public.

Discovery of the Year: This award will be given to a company who has made a highly significant oil or gas discovery, or an addition to discovered resources through exploration and appraisal activities, occurring between January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018, and having been announced or made public.

Venture of the Year: This award recognizes a new and significant commercial partnership, joint venture, arrangement or initiative (other than an M&A deal), occurring between January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018, and having been announced or made public.

Nominating members will be asked to specify:

– the Deal, Discovery or Venture that they are nominating;
– the reason(s) why they believe the person and/or company should win the award (200 words max); and
– any individuals whose contributions they believe should be specifically recognized in conjunction with the award.

Any information included in the nomination should be in the public domain. Only AIPN Active, NOC and Student members in good standing are eligible to make nominations. Members may nominate others or self-nominate. Nominees do not need to be AIPN members to qualify.

AIPN staff will compile all nominations and submit them to the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee will review each nomination submission independently and decide if it:

– Meets the criteria of the award category;
– Promotes or demonstrates the principles of the AIPN; and
– Has a material impact on the industry.

Each and every nomination will be carefully considered by the Awards Committee. The committee will discuss the candidates and decide on the top three finalists in each category. Once finalists have been decided, the committee will select each category winner through a committee vote. The Awards Committee reserves the right to forgo giving an award in any particular year.


January 7, 2019: Call for award nominations open
March 4, 2019: Award nominations close
March 5, 2019: Nominations are sorted and forwarded to Awards Committee
April 1, 2019: Finalists are announced
May 22, 2019: Award winners are announced at the AIPN 2019 IPS Gala & Awards Dinner

AIPN Members are invited to make nomination(s) online by March 4, 2019. Members may choose to make nominations in one or more categories.

Click here for full program details.

AIPN 2018 Award Winners

Deal of the Year: UK (North Sea) – Shell & Chrysaor
Discovery of the Year: Mexico (Zama) – Talos, Sierra & Premier
Venture of the Year: Mozambique (Area 4) – ENI & ExxonMobil

View photos from 2018 IPS Gala & Awards Dinner